zulooprograms.blogg.se

Sufjan to be alone with you
Sufjan to be alone with you






sufjan to be alone with you

“You gave your ghost,” which could be taken as a reference to Our Lord giving up His ghost(Mt 27:50). Now let’s focus on lyrics wherein the narrator contemplates the sacrifices of Jesus. Doing things for Jesus that the secular world would call irrational: it’s what living is about. This explains why Stevens sings, “I’d swim across Lake Michigan.” The surface area of the lake is 22,404 miles(the Sea of Galilee is 64 miles). Stevens spent a part of his childhood in Petosky, Michigan, a town that is located on the coast of Lake Michigan. When Stevens sings, “I’d give my body to be back again in the rest of the room,” I get the feeling he’s referencing the upper room(Acts 1:12-14) and that the narrator could be Stevens. Let’s go over lyrics concerning the sacrifices the narrator would make for Jesus. Stevens sings, “You went up on a tree.” So, yeah. Now, Jesus is not directly mentioned in the song, but this is certainly not one of those songs that might be about Him. The song’s narrator lists the different things he would do to be alone with Jesus, also talking about the different things Jesus sacrificed to be alone with us. His songs are normally not directly about his faith, but “ To Be Alone With You” is an exception.

sufjan to be alone with you

He is a current, American-born, Christian singer-songwriter that combines musical elements of baroque, folk, and pop. Which brings me to the second point of this post: examining “ To Be Alone With You,” a song by Sufjan Stevens released in 2004. The point of this post is to speak about my gratitude for a God who listens, who wants to hear about us. Choose to be in a different place than He is. Why would I want to be anywhere else? Because I’m selfish, and there are many times I wrongly choose myself over Him. Using my voice to speak one-on-one to my God. I took advantage of the opportunity, speaking to Him out loud. This was not a busy hour at the chapel, and every so often, I’d find myself alone with Jesus. The parish has a 24-hour adoration chapel, and you could find me there every Friday at 9 p.m. Dominic’s Church, which is located in the Lakeview neighborhood of New Orleans. Catalog, Calendars, Schedules, Fees, Policies, Formsīefore I entered the seminary, I was a weekly adorer for St.Master of Arts (Philosophy for Theological Studies).Bachelor of Philosophy (Philosophy for Theological Studies).








Sufjan to be alone with you